Nationals Performance


Team Performance


After a great run at the National Schools' Debating Championships the South Australian Schools' State Debating Team finished fourth. They lost the semi-final in a split decision on the topic 'that there is no place for religion in politics'.  One adjudicator awarded the debate to SA however the other two members of the adjudicator panel gave the debate to Victoria.   


Overall this is a great performance by South Australia, especially given that three of the team members are only in year 11. This year's performance again shows the strength of the SADA's debating programs. Over the past six years South Australian teams have made the finals five times at Nationals.


The SADA congratulates this year’s team members Gordon Wicks (St Peter's College) (Captain), Zoe Brown (Seymour College), Soraya Pradhan (Seymour College), Luke Lehmann (Cornerstone College) and their coaches Warwick Ambrose and Jack Batty on their performance.


Well done to Victoria who won Nationals, to NSW and Queensland who finished above the South Australian Team and all the other states and territories for a great week of debating.


Australian Team Selection

Zoe Brown was selected on the Australian Schools’ Debating Team and Soraya Pradhan was selected as a reserve to the Australian Schools’ Debating Team.  This is an amazing achievement for both of these students given that they are only in year 11. National selection is highly competitive and so the SADA congratulates both Zoe and Soraya. It is a reflection of their outstanding ability and a well deserved reward for all their hard work.  Zoe will travel to Turkey in January 2013 to represent Australia at the World Schools’ Debating Championships.    


The SADA facilitates participation at Nationals and selection on the Australian Team due to its position as the sole South Australian affiliate of the Australian Debating Federation.  

Senior Quarter Finals


The SADA is pleased to announce the quarter finalists for the senior grades.  They will debate at St Peter's College on Wednesday 15 August begining at 6.30 pm.

Senior A

  1. Seymour College
  2. Walford Anglican School for Girls
  3. St Peter's College 1
  4. Cornerstone College
  5. St Ignatius' College 1
  6. St Dominic's Priory College II
  7. Norwood Morialta High School
  8. St Peter's College II

Senior B

  1. Loreto College II
  2. Scotch College I
  3. Seymour College 1
  4. St Peter's College III
  5. St Peter's College V
  6. St Ignatius' College I
  7. Wilderness School III
  8. Wilderness School IV

South Australia Makes the Finals of the National Schools' Debating Championships


Congratulations to the South Australian Schools’ State Debating Team who just made the finals of the National Schools’ Debating Championships 2012.  They will debate against Victoria tomorrow morning.

Congratulations to NSW, Queensland and Victoria for also making the finals. 

Nationals Update


After five rounds of the National Schools' Debating Championships the South Australian Schools' State Debating Team has had three wins and two losses.  The team of Gordon Wicks (c), Zoe Brown, Soraya Pradhan and Luke Lehmann has performed very well after months of hard work and training.

Nationals is an annual competition which involves teams of the best debaters from each Australian state and mainland territory. The 2012 Championships are being held in Hobart. As the sole South Australian affiliate of the Australian Debating Federation the SADA is responsible for the selection, training and management of the South Australian Schools' State Debating Team. 

The SADA congratulates the team on their efforts and wishes them luck for the remaining rounds. 


State Team Send Off Debate


The State Team Send Off Debate will be held on Monday 23 July in the Bradley Forum, UniSA City West Campus, commencing at 7 pm.

The 2012 South Australian Schools' State Debating Team has worked very hard over the past four months and would appreciate your support.

Results 26 to 30 of 33 Page < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >