2017 Senior Grand Finals


The 2017 Senior A and B Grade Grand Finals were held at the University of South Australia on Sunday 10 September 2017.

In the Senior A Grade, St Ignatius College (Negative) defeated Seymour College (Affirmative) in a unanimous decision on the topic "That Universities should be banned from offering more places in courses than the projected graduate intake".

Zoe Chalmers (Seymour College) was awarded the Fran Conroy Medal for best speaker in the Senior A Grade Grand Final. Zoe was also awarded the Todd Golding Medal for best overall contribution to the South Australian Schools' State Debating Team.

In the Senior B Grade, Prince Alfred College (Affirmative) defeated St Peter's College (Negative) in a 3-2 split decision on the topic "That we should strike North Korea".

Angus Brosnan (PAC) was awarded the Peter Barry Medal for best speaker in the B Grade Grand Final.

The SADA congratulates all of the teams on their effors. The SADA would also like to thank guest speakers, Professor Rick Sarre (University of South Australia) and its Patron, the Honouable Chief Justice Kourakis.

2017 National Schools' Debating Championships


The 2017 South Australian Schools' State Debating Team consisted of Zoe Chalmers (Seymour College) (Captain), Madeleine McNeil (Wilderness School), Onor Nottle (Scotch College) and Shiva Mukherjee (St Peter's College). The reserves were William Ritossa (St Peter's College), Yash Giri (Prince Alfred College) and Angus Brosnan (Prince Alfred College). The team was coached by Tyson Leung, Helena Karapetis and Charlie Bruce.

The 2017 National Schools' Debating Championships were held in Brisbane. SA defeated the Northern Territory and Queensland, the eventual runners up. SA only lost one debate unanimously, winning over adjudicators in every other debate, often losing by very narrow margins. SA placed 7th overall, just one point behind Tasmania in 6th place in what was a very even year.

The SADA commends the team on its efforts throughout the year in training, and on its performance at Nationals. The SADA also thanks the coaches for donating their time to train the team and accompany them to Nationals.

Those interested in trying out for the state team should contact the SADA at More information about trials for 2018 will be uploaded to the website in the coming months.


2017 Australian Schools' Debating Team


The SADA congratulates Zoe Chalmers (Seymour College) on her selection on the Australian Schools' Debating Team. Zoe's selection followed her outstanding individual performance as captain of the South Australian Schools' State Debating Team at the 2017 National Schools' Debating Championships in Brisbane.

Australian Team selection is extremely competitive, and Zoe's selection is particularly impressive as she is only in year 11. Zoe will travel to Bali in 2018 to represent Australia at the World Schools' Debating Championships.

The SADA would also like to thank the State Debating Team Coaches: Helena Karapetis, Tyson Leung and Charlie Bruce, who have coached Zoe throughout the year.

Pre Finals Workshop and State Team Trials 2015


This year we are offering a new Pre-Finals Workshop, to be held the week before Senior Finals. This workshop will assist students to prepare for the Senior Finals of the SADA Schools’ Competition, with a particular focus on secret topic debating. We recommend that all students competing in finals attend this workshop. Other interested students are also welcome to attend. The workshop will be held from 2.00-5.00pm on 23 August 2015 in Room BH2-16, Barbra Hanrahan Building, UniSA City West Campus, North Terrace.

We will also be hosting our usual Senior Debating Workshops, which are open to all students in years 9-11 and focus on particular aspects of senior debating. These workshops are a fantastic way for students to improve their debating ability regardless of their ability and experience, and form the basis of selecting the South Australian State Team for 2016. The details for these workshops are:

  • 2.00-5.00pm on 25 October 2015 in Room BH2-16, Barbra Hanrahan Building, UniSA City West Campus, North Terrace.
  • 2.00-5.00pm on 8 November 2015 in Room BH2-16, Barbra Hanrahan Building, UniSA City West Campus, North Terrace.

National Schools Debating Competition Function at Government House


Displaying 2015-05-18 govt house reception.jpg

It was an enormous privilege for all competitors of the 2015 National Schools Debating Competition to have the opportunity to attend a special function at the South Australian Government House this Monday. His Excellency the Honourable Hieu Van Le AO and his wife were most gracious hosts and it was wonderful for the students to hear both the Governor as well as our President, Mr Warwick Ambrose, address the participants and coaches from all over the country.

Results 6 to 10 of 31 Page < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >