2017 National Schools' Debating Championships


The 2017 South Australian Schools' State Debating Team consisted of Zoe Chalmers (Seymour College) (Captain), Madeleine McNeil (Wilderness School), Onor Nottle (Scotch College) and Shiva Mukherjee (St Peter's College). The reserves were William Ritossa (St Peter's College), Yash Giri (Prince Alfred College) and Angus Brosnan (Prince Alfred College). The team was coached by Tyson Leung, Helena Karapetis and Charlie Bruce.

The 2017 National Schools' Debating Championships were held in Brisbane. SA defeated the Northern Territory and Queensland, the eventual runners up. SA only lost one debate unanimously, winning over adjudicators in every other debate, often losing by very narrow margins. SA placed 7th overall, just one point behind Tasmania in 6th place in what was a very even year.

The SADA commends the team on its efforts throughout the year in training, and on its performance at Nationals. The SADA also thanks the coaches for donating their time to train the team and accompany them to Nationals.

Those interested in trying out for the state team should contact the SADA at More information about trials for 2018 will be uploaded to the website in the coming months.