2017 Senior Grand Finals


The 2017 Senior A and B Grade Grand Finals were held at the University of South Australia on Sunday 10 September 2017.

In the Senior A Grade, St Ignatius College (Negative) defeated Seymour College (Affirmative) in a unanimous decision on the topic "That Universities should be banned from offering more places in courses than the projected graduate intake".

Zoe Chalmers (Seymour College) was awarded the Fran Conroy Medal for best speaker in the Senior A Grade Grand Final. Zoe was also awarded the Todd Golding Medal for best overall contribution to the South Australian Schools' State Debating Team.

In the Senior B Grade, Prince Alfred College (Affirmative) defeated St Peter's College (Negative) in a 3-2 split decision on the topic "That we should strike North Korea".

Angus Brosnan (PAC) was awarded the Peter Barry Medal for best speaker in the B Grade Grand Final.

The SADA congratulates all of the teams on their effors. The SADA would also like to thank guest speakers, Professor Rick Sarre (University of South Australia) and its Patron, the Honouable Chief Justice Kourakis.