In 1971 the Australian Debating Federation held the inaugural National Schools’ Debating Championships in Sydney. South Australia defeated Victoria in the Grand Final to become Australia’s first national champions. The Championahips are held in a different state or territory each year and represent the highest level of school debating in Australia. The best students at this tournament are selected to represent Australia in the World Schools' Debating Championships.

Selection in the State Team is a commendable achievement and follows a rigorous selection process. Each year the Team is accompanied to the Championships by two coaches and two adjudicators. In a reflection of the SADA’s exceptional coaching and education programs, strength of the UniSA SADA Schools’ Competition and the talent and dedication of the students on the team and their coaches, South Australia often makes the finals and has recently had a number of students selected on the Australian Schools’ Debating Team.

If you are interested in trying out for the South Australian Schools’ State Debating Team, please click here.